Navratri is a major festival of Hindus. The word Navaratri is a Sanskrit word, which means ‘nine nights’. During these nine nights and ten days, nine forms of Shakti / Devi are worshiped. The tenth day is known as Dussehra. Navratri comes four times a year. It is celebrated from Pratipada to Navami of Paush, Chaitra, Ashadh and Ashwin months. The nine forms of Goddess Mahalakshmi, Mahasaraswati (Saraswati) and Durga are worshiped on the nine nights of Navratri. Which are called Nanda Devi, Rakhtadantika, Shakambhari, Durga, Bhima and Bhramari Navadurga respectively. Navratri is an important major festival, which is celebrated with great enthusiasm throughout India.

Nine Forms of Goddess: –

  1. Shailputri means daughter of the mountains.
  2. Brahmacharini means Brahmacharini Devi.
  3. Chandraghanta means shining like a moon.
  4. Kushmanda means the whole world at its feet.
  5. Skandamata means mother of Karthik Swami.
  6. Katyayani i.e. born in Katyayan Ashram.
  7. Kalratri means destroyer of Kaal.
  8. Mahagauri means white color.
  9. Siddhidatri means one who gives all the achievements.

“Significane Of Navratri Pujan

The Navratri festival is a representation of Goddess Amba (Electricity). The beginning of spring and the beginning of autumn are considered to be an important confluence of climate and the effects of the sun. These two periods are considered sacred and excellent for worshiping Goddess Durga. The dates of the festival are determined according to the lunar calendar. The festival of Navratri is considered to be the most auspicious time for the concept of Maa Durga, devotion and worship of the divine power (sublime, supreme, supreme creative energy). This puja dates back to prehistoric times, before the Vedic era. Since the Vedic era of sages, Gayatri Sadhana is the main form of devotional practices performed during Navratri. In Shaktipeeth and Siddhapeeth, heavy fairs are held on Navratri.

“Why Navratri Pujan?”

Due to the number ‘nine’ in the word ‘Navratri’, the number of days of Navratri should be limited to 9, but it is not so. Some deities may have 7 days, while some deities may have 9 or 13 days of Navratra. In general, it is an opportunity to perform the Navratri of the deity and the presiding deity. An incarnation of a deity is when there is an instrument for him. If a monster is frantic, or devotees get caught in the ultimate crisis, or any other similar objections come, the duration of the crisis lasts from 7 days to 13 days. In such a period, Navratri is kept by placing the idol or statue of that deity on a silver-letter or Nagaveli leaf. Shodashopachara worship of the deity established at that time. Navratri Mahotsav is performed according to its power and totality by performing various programs like unbroken lamp lighting, rosary bandhan, recitation of the deity’s Mahatma, fasting and awakening. Even if the devotee is fasting, the deity has to offer food grains as usual. During this period, one does not have to shave as a part of excellent ethics and observe strict celibacy.

“Navratri, the festival of the destruction of asuras”

There are many interesting stories behind celebrating Navratri. It is said that at the behest of the demon Guru Shukracharya, the demons appeased Brahmaji by doing severe penance and asked the groom not to kill any men, animals and their weapons. Asuras started getting tortured. Then, to protect the gods, Brahma told the difference of boon and said that only the power of women can destroy the demons. On the instructions of Brahmaji, the Devas pleased Maa Parvati for 9 days and took the promise of killing the Asuras.

“Navratri Pujan Vidhi”

Navratri begins on the first day with a small establishment. After that which is done in Abhijeet Muhurta, only then is the legislation to start the Durga Saptashati recitation of Mother Bhagwati Durga. After that, on the day of Ashtami, Navami or Dashami according to their reverence, the Havan is worshiped, the Kuvnari girls are served, which pleases the mother Goddess Durga Devi.

Thank you

Speak with love, hail Jagat Janani Durga Maiya.